Course of Empire question

Debate aspects of historical knowledge that are open to interpretation

Moderators: Loki, exposno1, Parrot, Quasigriz, NickDupree, nmoore63, robroydude, Spinny Spamkiller

Course of Empire question

Postby dbhstockton » Thu Sep 15, 2011 9:18 pm

I'm very concerned for our American Republic. The brand of uniquely American reactionism represented by the Tea party have always been a strain our political culture, but it's starting to feel like a watershed is coming; these cretins can finally have their moment.

Tell me I'm wrong. Are we headed towards something dark? It feels like 2+2=5 territory sometimes.

I was born in the late seventies, but I have a history degree. So I think I have enough perspective to understand that, to some extent, the world always appears to be coming apart at the seams. Perhaps someone with a little more personal experience in the world would have a broader perspective. Someone who lived through the upheavals of the sixties, etc.

Maybe it's the fact that Dan had been discussing the Death Throes of the Republic for well over a year...In that series, Dan did such a wonderful job of illustrating universal principals that affect all civilizations alongside the traits unique to Rome. An almost organic sense that the the very strengths that frame one's society and lead to its success will inevitably lead to an inability to adapt...or something like that...
If a nation expects to be ignorant and free, in a state of civilization, it expects what never was and never will be. --Thomas Jefferson
dbhstockton
Contributing Member

Re: Course of Empire question

Postby Smitty-48 » Thu Sep 15, 2011 9:26 pm

dbhstockton wrote:I'm very concerned for our American Republic. The brand of uniquely American reactionism represented by the Tea party have always been a strain our political culture, but it's starting to feel like a watershed is coming; these cretins can finally have their moment.